Burra Station Estate - History

 

 Burra Valley is situated at the estuary end of Googong Dam, south of Canberra/Queanbeyan, and offers a peaceful lifestyle for those seeking rural tranquility within easy distance from Canberra. Burra is a tranquil farming community with hobby farms interspersing the larger working farms.Burra Station was unofficially grazed in the early 1800s by the Campbells of Duntroon, then settled in 1830 by way of a free grant of 5,500 acres to Captain Hutchinson. It was later owned by Mr. A.J. Badgery, a cattleman from Moss Vale, and at its peak totaled 7000 acres carrying sheep, cattle and growing oats for food and fodder. It was sold in 1916 to the MacDiarmid family. In 1925 Finley MacDiarmid quarried blue granite on the property to build the gracious homestead. Located near the picturesque Burra Creek, on fertile flats with varied vegetation and stands of native trees, Burra Station Estate offers the last of its grazing land in a subdivision of hobby farm blocks ranging from 2 Ha. to 15 Ha. (5 to 39 acres). There are 29 blocks with great house sites, the majority with northerly aspects and stunning views of the Tinderry Ranges. The arable soil is gently undulating and ideal for horses or horticulture. Burra has a wonderful community spirit, focused around where there is an oval, tennis courts, children's playground and community hall. The Burra Community Association (BCA) publishes a monthly newsletter and hosts the annual Burra Fair at the park. There are social gatherings, bush dances, a gardening club, book~ club, a local land care group, social dinner club, scouts, bush fire brigade and pony club - just to name one of the local groups. There is a free school bus service to Canberra and Queanbeyan schools.


Website designed by Paul Muscat